SPIRITUAL JOURNEY / SPIRITUAL AWAKENING / LIFE

SHALLOW — The Song Dedicated To My Old Self And Soul

I knew I’d reach the shallow sea again and claim my victory.

🌈LIFE LESSON
3 min readOct 21, 2022

Medium Non-Members Can Read The Full Story Here!

A girl under the surface of water
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

I’m falling into the deep sea

I can’t swim

I can only keep kicking my legs

Hoping to get up to the shallow

And back onto the beach

However, this is of no use

I still keep sinking and sinking

As though it’s bottomless

My feet can’t seem to reach the ground

My surrounding is getting darker and darker

I’m getting further and further away from the shallow

I’m in the very deep of the sea now

But why haven’t I reached the bottom yet?

I haven’t fallen deep and hard enough yet?

Does this signify that I would be falling hard and long?

Yes, I was right

Everything played out and unfolded as per this dream

Until I reached the very deep bottom of the sea

Then only I sprang up toward the surface of the sea

When I reached the shallow

And saw the daylight again, finally

A girl raising up to the surface of the water
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Shallow by Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper

Shallow: Tell me something, girl
Me: Yes? And my old soul replies simultaneously

Shallow: Are you happy in this modern world?
Me: No, I’m not happy

Shallow: Or do you need more?
Me: Yes, I definitely need more!

Shallow: Is there something else you’re searchin’ for?
Me: Yes! Plenty!

Shallow: I’m falling Yes!
Me: I am!

Shallow: In all the good times, I find myself longin’ for change
Me: Yes, I'm longing for the change of my bad times to the good times

Shallow: And in the bad times, I fear myself
Me: Yes, I fear that the bad times will never end

Shallow: I’m off the deep end, watch as I dive in
Me: Watch as I energetically get off the deep water even though I’m still sinking

Shallow: I’ll never meet the ground
Me: Even though I’m still sinking and haven’t touched the bottom yet

Shallow: Crash through the surface, where they can’t hurt us
Me: But I’ll keep trying till I crash the surface of the sea, where the karma can’t hurt us anymore, I’m telling my soul

Shallow: We’re far from the shallow now
Me: Even though we’re still far from the shallow part of the sea — we’re still in deep water(serious trouble). But it doesn’t matter, our grit and endurance will help us through. We WILL reach the shallow eventually. Nothing can beat grit and endurance, not even the ever-powerful and revered karma.

Parting words

This is my personal interpretation of this song, sung by the very powerful voices of Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper. It evokes a deep sense of emotion buried in the deepest depth of my soul. It signifies the struggle of my emotional difficulties throughout the years till its recent triumph.

It resonates so well with a dream I had during my younger years when I first encountered a major setback in life. Deep down in my heart, I knew that I would get back to the shallowed sea and crash the surface of the ocean and see the daylight again — the day I won the battle and emerged as the victor.

This song means different things to different people. Does it mean something to you?

You may explore more of my story here:

Life/Life Lessons

100 stories
A guy looking through out a window in the rain
Female rugby player in sportswear
A smart-looking blonde woman

Relationships/Love

66 stories
A guy looking through out a window in the rain
A love sign

Wellness/Psychology

124 stories
variety of chocolates
A woman frustrating over her sleep problems

Culture/Mystic/Writing

43 stories
Ice kacang

--

--